IZA - Conference Program


IZA Workshop: EU Enlargement and the Labor Markets

Organizers: Klaus F. Zimmermann (University of Bonn), Martin Kahanec (Central European University)
Date:November 30, 2006 - November 30, 2006

Event Manager:

Ulrike Maurer (IZA)


+++ presentation: 20 minutes +++ presentation: 20 minutes +++ presentation: 20 minutes +++

Thursday, November 30:

14:00       Session I:
The Impact of Free Movement of Workers from Central and Eastern Europe on Labor Markets
  Chair: Klaus F. Zimmermann (University of Bonn)
14:10 - 14:30   Gerard Hughes (Trinity College Dublin*))
  "EU Enlargement and Ireland's Experience of Migration from Central and Eastern Europe"
14:30 - 14:50   Eskil Wadensjö (Stockholm University and IZA*))
  "Post-Enlargement Migration and Labour Market Impact in Sweden"
14:50 - 15:10   Jonathan Portes (King's College London and IZA*))
  "Labour Migration to the UK"
15:10 - 15:30   Krystyna Iglicka (L.K. Academy of Management*))
  "The Impact of Workers from Central and Eastern Europe on Labour Markets. The Experience of Poland"
15:30 - 15:40   Discussant: Anzelika Zaiceva (IZA)
15:40 - 16:30   Open Discussion
16:30 - 17:00   Coffee Break
17:00       Session II:
Scientists meet Policymakers: The Perspectives of East-West Migration
  Chair: Jonathan Portes (King's College London and IZA)
17:00 - 17:20   Marcel Canoy (Erasmus University Rotterdam*)), Ricklef Beutin (European Commission), Anna Horvath (European Commission), Agnes Hubert (European Commission), Frédéric Lerais (European Commission), Myriam Sochacki and Peter Smith (European Commission)
  "The European Perspective: Migration and Public Perception"
17:20 - 17:40   Michael C. Burda (Humboldt University Berlin and IZA*))
  "The Scientific Perspective"
17:40 - 18:20   Open Discussion
18:20 - 18:30   Closing Remarks: Klaus F. Zimmermann (IZA, DIW Berlin and Bonn University)

*) current affiliation

List of Participants

Michael C. Burda (burda@wiwi.hu-berlin.de)
Marcel Canoy (marcel.canoy@cec.eu.int)
Holger Hinte (hinte@iza.org)
Gerard Hughes (gehughes@tcd.ie)
Krystyna Iglicka (iglicka@csm.org.pl)
Martin Kahanec (kahanec@iza.org)
Jonathan Portes (jonathan.portes@dwp.gsi.gov.uk)
Eskil Wadensjö (eskil.wadensjo@sofi.su.se)
Anzelika Zaiceva (zaiceva@iza.org)
Klaus F. Zimmermann (zimmermann@iza.org)