IZA - Conference Program


1st EIB Prize - Recipient of Outstanding Contribution Award (EIB Event)

Location:Copernicus Science Centre, Warsaw
Date:September 19, 2013 - September 19, 2013

Event Manager:

Dominik Spitza (IZA)

From left to right:
Werner Hoyer (EIB President), Christopher Pissarides (Chairman of the EIB Prize Jury), Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz (Mayor of Warsaw), Klaus F. Zimmermann (EIB Prize Laureate, IZA and University of Bonn),
Magdalena Alvarez Arsa (EIB VP), Elias Papaioannou (EIB Prize Laureate, London School of Economics), Dorota Podedworna-Tarnowska (Under-Secretary of State, Poland), Rémy Jacob (Dean of the EIB Institute).

A video capturing elements of the prize ceremony

EIB Prize

The EIB Prize is an economics award created by the EIB Institute to recognise and stimulate excellence in economic and social research, and its implementation and diffusion. Research should be of specific relevance to European development and integration. The EIB Prize will be awarded annually, starting in 2013. It consists of an “Outstanding Contribution Award” of EUR 40 000 and a “Young Economist Prize” of EUR 25 000.

The topic for the 2013 EIB Prize is “Growth, employment and convergence, with applications to the European Union”. Wide differences in both the levels and rates of growth of income between European countries and between regions within countries, and in levels of unemployment, have been a constant concern of policymakers in the European Union. Indeed, the European Investment Bank was established in 1958 with the primary objective of facilitating the convergence of standards of living within Member States. It is therefore appropriate that the first EIB Prizes will be awarded for research that has led to a better understanding of the forces at work in Europe and of suitable policy prescriptions.

Eligibility criteria for candidates

Nominees for the EIB Prize should be researchers that have made substantial empirical contributions based on solid theoretical foundations in areas covered by this year’s topic. A non-exhaustive list would include the determinants of income growth, the relationship between growth and inequality, differential labour market performance, the political economy of product and labour market reform and the impact of monetary union on growth, employment and convergence. Both prizes are open to all economists, with no distinction regarding nationality or place of work.

The Outstanding Contribution Award honours scholars for their lifetime scientific contribution of specific relevance to the prize’s topic, including academic excellence and publication record and impact on public policy or society at large.

The Young Economist Prize honours scholars under the age of forty on 31 December 2013 for influential research and/or a significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge that (i) is of specific relevance to the prize’s topic and (ii) demonstrates great promise for the future.

First European EIB Prize 2013

The Luxembourg-based EIB Institute of the European Investment Bank awarded IZA Director Klaus F. Zimmermann with the first European EIB Prize for excellence in social and economic research and its implementation and diffusion. Zimmermann is honored for his lifetime scientific contribution, including academic excellence and publication record as well as impact on public policy or society at large, with specific relevance to the prize's topic, "Growth, employment and convergence, with applications to the European Union."

According to the prize committee chaired by Nobel laureate Christopher Pissarides (London School of Economics) and consisting of Charles Bean (Bank of England), Paul de Grauwe (Catholic University of Leuven), Francesco Giavazzi (Bocconi University), Daniel Gros (CEPS), Zimmermann's outstanding research on migration and labor market issues has "led to a better understanding of the forces at work in Europe and of suitable policy prescriptions." EIB President Werner Hoyer presented the Prize, worth 40,000 euros, during an award ceremony in Warsaw on September 19, 2013. In his acceptance speech, Zimmermann underscored the importance of free labor mobility within the EU and called for Poland's swift accession to the Eurozone.

About the laureate:

Klaus F. Zimmermann (60) is Full Professor of Economics at the University of Bonn and Director of the Bonn-based Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA). The independent research institute employs the world's largest network of over 1,200 economists from more than 45 countries. Zimmermann has initiated migration research in economics in Europe and has studied the creation and effectiveness of labor reform market reforms. He has made important contributions for the understanding of their consequences for employment, economic success and integration. Important research projects have dealt with the effects of East enlargement of the European Union for the European labor markets and the economic consequences of ethnic diversity. Zimmermann is committed to the diffusion of research to policy and society. He regularly advises the European Commission and the World Bank on labor market and migration issues.
Read more: http://www.iza.org/home/zimmermann

About the EIB Institute:

Established in 2012 as part of the European Investment Bank Group, the EIB Institute is dedicated to supporting 'European initiatives for the common good'. The Institute sees itself as a catalyst for social, cultural, educational and research activities that are directed towards economic and social development in EU Member States and European partner countries.
Read more: http://institute.eib.org


Thursday, September 19:

17:30       Welcome Speech
    Werner Hoyer (President, EIB)
17:40       Address
    Dorota Podedworna-Tarnowska (Under-Secretary of State, Poland)
17:50       Announcement of Laureates
    Christopher Pissarides (President of the Jury, Professor, London School of Economics and IZA)
18:00       "The Mobility Challenge for Growth and Integration in Europe"
    Lecture by Klaus F. Zimmermann (IZA and University of Bonn)
Recipient of Outstanding Contribution Award
18:30       "Financial Regulation, Banking Integration, and Business Cycle Synchronization"
    Lecture by Elias Papaioannou (London Business School)
Recipient of Young Economist Prize
18:50       Concluding Remarks
    Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz (Mayor of City of Warsaw)
19:00       Cocktail Reception

Selected Publications