Logo Logo

Anniversary Event: Panel Discussion and IZA Prize Ceremony 2008

Location:Petersberg, Bonn
Date:December 01, 2008

Event Manager:

Mark Fallak (IZA)

Participation by invitation only.


[Download Program Overview in PDF]

Monday, December 01:

15:00       Welcome and Coffee
15:30       Greeting
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Löwer (Vice Rector, University of Bonn)

Panel Discussion: The Economist's Role in Policy Advice
Keynote Speaker:
Prof. Edward P. Lazear, Ph.D. (Stanford University; Chairman, U.S. Council of Economic Advisers)
Prof. Lord Richard Layard (CEP, London School of Economics; IZA Prize Laurate 2008)
Prof. Dr. Jo M. M. Ritzen (President, Maastricht University; former Dutch Minister of Education)
Prof. Jan Svejnar, Ph.D. (University of Michigan)
Dr. Ursula Weidenfeld (Editor-in-Chief, Impulse Magazine)
Prof. Dr. Klaus F. Zimmermann (CEO and Director, IZA; President, DIW Berlin; University of Bonn)
17:30       Reception
18:00       Anniversary Event: 10 Years of IZA


Bärbel Dieckmann (Lady Mayor, City of Bonn)
Prof. Dr. Friedrich Schneider (University of Linz; Chairman, Verein für Socialpolitik)
Dr. h.c. Frank-Jürgen Weise (CEO, Federal Employment Agency)

Live Music
Marcus Schinkel Trio

IZA Prize Ceremony
Prof. Lord Richard Layard (CEP, London School of Economics)
Prof. Stephen J. Nickell (Nuffield College, Oxford)

Prof. Richard B. Freeman, Ph.D. (Harvard University; IZA Prize Laureate 2007)

22:00       Informal Get-Together